ESPN Article is Downright Disrespectful

Wow.  That is probably the only word I can even think of right now after reading the ESPN story, let alone the headline, that addresses Monday morning’s events on Ohio State’s campus.  Seriously, ESPN…is this a joke?

What unprofessional writer thinks that it is ok to revolve his article all around the football players’ safety? I get that this is a sports network/organization, but how about we pay some respect to the students or faculty that made up the 11 harmed? If I were one of them, sitting in my hospital bed or resting at home with an injury, I would be infuriated.

Sure, I get that we should report that the football team is safe, but it needs to be done in a more tasteful and respectful manner.  There were 11 people harmed in this incident, and each one of them holds just as much importance as a member of the football team does.

This also raises the question of what would’ve happened if one of the injured people had been a football player? I think that if it had been a player who was somehow affected by this event, the media would for sure turn all of the attention on him.  The headlines would instead read “Ohio State Football Player Injured after On-Campus Attack Monday”.  

As an Ohio State student, I take great pride in our football team.  They are some of the best of the best, and I think they are highly talented men.  However, I do not believe they should be viewed as more important or valuable than other students, faculty, or people in general.  ESPN should definitely reconsider this staff writer’s job at its company.

Author:

Hello and welcome to my blog! My name is Kayley and I am a Junior at THE Ohio State University. Throughout the semester, I will be reporting on the Men and Women's Buckeye soccer teams. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a comment